top of page

The Heart Chakra

The heart chakra, which is also known as Anahata in Sanskrit, colors your life with beauty, love, and compassion.

Motivated by the principles of integration and transformation, the heart chakra bridges earthly and spiritual aspirations.

The main meanings and functions that are associated with the heart chakra involve your love for yourself and for others.

This is the chakra that governs how you relate to people and how you handle relationships.

The heart chakra gives empathy and compassion, and it’s responsible for your ability to forgive and accept. It’s also the chakra involved in changes and transformations.

With the heart chakra, you are able to grieve properly and attain peace and tranquility. You are able to remain compassionate and achieve complete discernment.

It’s the center of your awareness and the integration of your insights, especially when enhanced by the April Birthstone.

When the heart chakra is free and unblocked, you will feel deeply connected, and you will experience a harmonious exchange of energies with all that’s around you.

You will have a better appreciation of beauty, wonder, and magic.

However, when there’s something blocking your heart chakra, you will experience difficulties in how you relate to other people.

You will experience excessive jealousy and codependency. You will also become withdrawn and closed off.

Heart Chakra Color

Even though most people think that pink is the color of the heart chakra, it’s actually associated with the color green.

The auric color of this chakra is seen as a smoky pink, which is a popular depiction of love and romance.

Green is composed of blue and yellow in equal parts. It’s the color of love and resides at the very center of your being, which is the heart center.

Green is the energy color of transformation and love. It lets you transform your ego and the needs of your lower chakras and allow them to open up to love.

Green color chakra fills you with inspiration to become more loving and compassionate.

It’s the color of balance, life, and growth. It is through balance that you discover the center from which you can love, build healthy and nurturing relationships, and give and accept love.

The energy of the green color chakra is calming and soothing, like a soft blanket of grass under your feet. It’s the color of nature, the trees, and the grass.

As you unfurl the petals of your heart chakra, you can also discover the seat of compassion, not only for others but for yourself, too.

You start to radiate love, and you begin to feel the interconnectedness of everything in life.

On a physical level, the green color chakra relates to the cardiac nerve plexus, thymus gland, breasts, arms, shoulders, chest, lungs, and heart.

People with strong green chakra energy stand tall and give out energies of openness.

Those with weak green chakra energy appear tight in their upper bodies because they are slouching, with their shoulders dropping forward.

They are protecting the heart center, making their head and neck drop forward as well.

The gifts of this chakra color include a strong heart and a healthy blood circulation. It also boasts of a healthy immune system.

People with this chakra color are strong in the upper body and flexible in the neck and upper back. They also have very high lung capacity.

The physical challenges of this color chakra include heart problems, lung problems, painful and tight muscles in the upper body, and an imbalanced immune system.

On a mental level, green color chakra means growth and expansion. It makes forming connections with others and with the deeper parts of yourself so much easier.

Green color chakra brings the energies of freedom and development. It’s the building block of your self-acceptance and your acceptance of others.

Green represents the development phase when you begin to form relationships with friends and family.

When the heart chakra becomes blocked or imbalanced, this is usually the cause. You get wounded in your personal relationships, and you heal from your relationships as well.

When the green color chakra is strong, you become more sociable, and you can effortlessly combine emotion with reason.

You can see the connection and the importance of having a good balance between the two.

But when this color chakra is weak, you become critical and demanding. You start to demand perfection because you only use your reason and intellect, not your emotions.

On an emotional level, green is an expansive color. The gift of this color is that you radiate love and peace to let others know that they are accepted for who they are.

When this energy becomes blocked or excessive, it becomes a contraction of this soothing and loving energy.

Green makes you more loving and compassionate. It sets healthy boundaries for you so that you will remain emotionally balanced.

This color teaches you to love yourself so that you will be able to love others and maintain healthy relationships. It also reminds you to stay friendly and be more empathetic to the plight of others.

When there’s a weak green energy, the tendency is to become overly critical and judgmental of yourself and of others. You also become very irritable and jealous.

You lack compassion and become narcissistic. There are also weak or poor boundaries that leave you paranoid and defenseless.

On a spiritual level, green color chakra gives you instinctual knowing and growing with the spirit.

From a spiritual point of view, it reminds you that you are entering the wonder and power of love.

When the green energy is strong, you become more compassionate, altruistic, peaceful, and serene.

You are aware that your emotions are a part of something bigger, and that everything is interconnected.

You understand the real meaning of unconditional love, and you strive to give yourself love.

What Causes a Heart Chakra Imbalance?

The heart chakra is central to your ability to give and accept love.

Emotions that are connected with the heart chakra include love, anger, bitterness, hate, grief, resentment, forgiveness, loneliness, compassion, loyalty, self-centeredness, trust, generosity, gratitude, commitment, and the ability to follow one’s heart.

Issues and life experiences that impact the heart chakra include the death of a loved one, rejection, breach of trust, abandonment, adultery, divorce, injustice, and emotional abuse.

Heart chakra pain is often related to having a broken heart from being disappointed in some way by someone you love.

Loss, trauma, grief, abuse, and rejection are all emotionally painful to go through and can leave an energetic impression on the heart chakra.

When the energy in this chakra becomes blocked or disturbed, you will experience a surge of negative and painful emotions.

The heart chakra is vulnerable to disruptions associated with love and relationships.

Everyone has a history of relationships. In this history, there are many things that gave you both positive and negative experiences about love and loving others.

As you encounter life’s challenges, there are two ways that you can cope.

You can choose to shut down and reduce the energy that you spend on the situation, or you can increase the energy to fight it.

These defense mechanisms become anchored to your chakras. As time passes, these defense mechanisms cause the imbalance in the chakras.

Overactive Heart Chakra

When the heart chakra is overactive, it can lead to a lack of wisdom and discernment in relationships.

The heart chakra is often seen as the point of integration for your altruistic and personal aspirations through love and relationships.

0 views0 comments
bottom of page